Get the London Look

March 18, 2017

A weekend in London can cause a lot of pressure on the fashion side of things.  Packing was difficult considering I had one bag and was on my way to one of the most fashionable places in Europe. I confronted myself by thinking I could shop a lot once I got there. Although, I wasn’t sure how I was going to bring anything back… But that was a problem for another time.

On our day of tea, lunch, Harrods and touring I was in the mood to dress up. I wanted to be comfortable enough to walk around but cute enough to not feel underdressed on the fashionable streets of London.

I decided to wear a new favorite Zara blouse that is a bright blue color with a Parisian flowing sleeve. I paired it with a pair of really light grey jeans with a few small rips, cut off at the bottom, also from Zara. To add the necessary London spunk I added a new pair of awesome sneakers. I purchased them from a small boutique in the 6th arr. These white, platform sneakers have a small spot of black patent leather material on the heel and a square patch of grey faux fur on the laces, woven through them. These shoes are the perfect pair for my situation. They are comfortable enough to tour all day (all weekend in fact) and are interesting enough to spice up any outfit. (I also felt very European.) I also had to add a cream raincoat, also from Zara (I know its sad). I used it half as a raincoat from the unexpected showers, and half as a windbreaker from the unexpected cold.

Breaking the rules of all black and neutrals is fun when you’re in a new place, and can be as simple as adding a colorful top to an outfit of calm colors. Adding a little excitement of something bold, like this sneaker is another way to push your fashion boundaries in a practical and easy way. The items that made up this outfit were basics, but make a big difference in how you look and feel when you’re in a fashion capital.

 

 

Leave a Reply

